Southwest CDC created the Southwest Pride Day Parade and Festival in 1998. District Attorney Lynn Abraham, Mayor Edward Rendell, Councilwomen Anna Verna and Jannie Blackwell and State Representative James Roebuck walk along Southwest CDC Board Members Oscar Harris, Carl Forcillo and Margaret Williams at the first parade, now an annual event.

Board and Leadership


Donna M. Henry

Executive Director

Donna M. Henry has been the executive director since 1994.  Under her leadership, the organization has quadrupled in programs and the budget has increased seven-fold. Since 1987 Donna has worked in the field of housing, community and economic development. Donna has a Bachelor of Science degree in Architecture and a Master of Science degree in Community Economic Development.

Contact information: 215-729-7441 or Email

Lorraine Thomas

Operations Manager

Lorraine Thomas has been the operation manager since 2011 and brings nearly 30 years experience of being a community leader in Southwest who has been dubbed the “Mayor of Southwest”.  She has been responsible for many community partnerships over the years.  Lorraine is responsible for the daily operations and ensures that staff has the resources and information they need to help the community.

Contact information:  215-729-3948 or Email


Malcolm J. Yates

Interim Chair

Allavertta Kirkand


Daniel Bryan

Assistant Treasurer

Gregory Benjamin


Rita Carr


Lew Friedrich


Paulette Royster


Malina Williams


Lisa White


Aisha Glenn


Adriane Parks